-A A +A

Erhard Mahnke receives Leahy Leadership Award

Posted by: VHFA on 10/29/2009

erhard mahnkeThe Committee on Temporary Shelter (COTS) presented Erhard Mahnke with the Leahy Leadership Award this morning.

Erhard is coordinator of the Vermont Affordable Housing Coalition (VAHC) in Burlington, a member organization committed to ensuring all Vermonters have decent, safe and affordable housing.

The award, established by COTS in the name of Sen. Patrick Leahy in 1998, is presented each year to someone who's done an outstanding job of advocating for those in poverty and working toward long-term solutions to end homelessness.

Erhard has worked in housing, community development and municipal government in Vermont for more than 20 years. He's been with the VAHC since 1997.

Past recipients of the award include VHFA Executive Director Sarah Carpenter, VHFA Commissioner and Vermont Housing & Conservation Board Executive Director Gus Seelig, Tim Searles, and Gov. Howard Dean.

Congratulations, Erhard!