-A A +A


BURLINGTON, VT ¾ Gov. Howard Dean appointed Karen Moran Lafayette to the Board of Commissioners of Vermont Housing Finance Agency (VHFA) in Burlington. Lafayette served in the Vermont House of Representatives from 1993 to 2000 as a representative from Burlington; Clerk of the House Ways and Means, tax writing committee; and, most recently, as Chair of the Joint House and Senate Committee on Affordable Housing. "I’m very pleased to have been appointed to the VHFA Board of Commissioners. The need for affordable housing remains critical in this state and has been a primary focus of mine during my tenure in the Vermont State Legislature," says Lafayette. "The cooperative effort among the agencies of state, the private sector and the vast network of non-profit organizations works well in Vermont and is essential in providing safe, affordable housing to all of our residents." VHFA's seven-member Board of Commissioners includes three ex-officio members and four members appointed by the Governor of Vermont. They represent private and public lending, real estate, and housing development interests. Other board members include: Chairperson Lisa Mitiguy Randall; Vice-Chair Gustave Seelig, Executive Director, Vermont Housing and Conservation Trust Fund; James H. Douglas, State Treasurer; Dagyne Canney, Principal Broker, Vermont Real Estate Sales Co.; Thomas J. Candon, Deputy Commissioner of Banking (Designee for Elizabeth R. Costle, Commissioner of Banking, Insurance, Securities and Health Care Administration); and Kathy Beyer, Deputy Commissioner, Department of Housing and Community Affairs (Designee for Molly Lambert, Secretary, Agency of Commerce and Community Development). VHFA was established by the Vermont Legislature in 1974 to finance and promote affordable housing opportunities for low- and moderate-income Vermonters. Since its inception, the agency has provided financing to approximately 23,000 households and almost 4,900 affordable apartments.